Torturo Podcast etc.

I set up this blog principally as a source of information about my writing. I put up other stuff, but mainly it is meant to be a centralized location for reviews etc. about my books and stories.

I have received lots of good feedback. Occasionally however I have come across remarks that are not altogether good. The question then arises: Should I provide that info also? I think I should, since I am neither a tobacco company nor an auto manufacturer.

So, I ran across this podcast about my book The Translation of Father Torturo. It is, quite frankly, far from being altogether negative. On the contrary, it is mostly positive. The fellows doing it however do point out a number of flaws, primarily regarding the actual production values, and I mostly agree with their assessment.

One of them mentions some missing letters, and quite correctly stated that this was due to the printer, who seems incapable of producing words with Slovenian accents. In fact, the proofs of the book did not have these errors.

If any one is interested, I only have 3 of the signed copies left from this offer, so anyone who wants one should get one.

On another note, here is a comment I found about my story The Life of Captain Gareth Caernarvon which appeared in McSweeney’s 19 and was put on the Best American Fantasy recommended reading list.

5 Responses to Torturo Podcast etc.

  1. benpeek says:

    i provide links to reviews good and bad. i figure it’s more interesting that way.

  2. brendanconnell says:

    yes, and I like your blog. I hadn’t thought about it, but maybe it influenced me to do the same.

  3. benpeek says:

    that’s really cool of you to say, man. thanks.

  4. brendanconnell says:

    Sure. Well, you’ve got the guts to say things most people wouldn’t say – and that is worth a lot these days.

  5. […] and the Power of Honesty A week or so ago I mentioned a bad review of a story of mine here, regarding a story that was published in McSweeney’s. The author of the blog it seems decided […]

Leave a Reply

