Diet Soap

I recieved some copies of the new zine Diet Soap today, which contain my very short story Xi’an (a Metrophilia). This is a nice looking production and I recommend checking it out.

The entire table of contents is as follows:

“Diary of a Nonsworn” by Holly K. Hein

“Observer Effects” by Tim Pratt

“The Basement, Borges” by Darin C. Bradley

“A Brief History of Cakes and Cake Making” by Eric Weiskott

“Evelyn Manesta and the Resistance to Modern Photographic Surveillance” by Bill Brown

“A Dead Man in Internet Images” by J. A. Tyler

“From Georges Bataille to Jesus Christ in Four Moves” by Ben Segal

“Xi’an (a Metrophilia)” by Brendan Connell

7 Responses to Diet Soap

  1. thistle says:

    My resistance is approaching if not actually in its death throes.
    If I were a bird, I would be a barn swallow.

  2. brendanconnell says:

    Reistance? What are you resisting?

  3. thistle says:

    well. perhaps an ill-considered question, Mr. Connell, as I am very likely to answer.
    My initial reaction to your work was that you were using your word skills to be garish, not always flawlessly I might add, and little else. The more I read of it, however, the more I find you capable of producing delight, high wit, beauty, the unexpected.
    My resistance is to accepting that I might read Fr Torturo, for example, and thoroughly admire and enjoy it.
    The name continues to alarm me, however.

  4. brendanconnell says:

    Well—when the trend is “lean, succinct writing”, I have little choice but to be flawed and garish. If I am reborn in 200 years and the trend is to be garish, I will write those trim, errorless prose.

    But yes, the Torturo might be alarming. Most people have liked it, but like everything else I do, it has its flaws.

    To be honest, I am not sure I trust things that don’t have flaws.

  5. thistle says:

    I hope I haven’t managed to offend, it wasn’t my intention, only to be transparent. It didn’t seem worth having the conversation if I tried to be coy.
    By garish I mean shockingly violent. That part of your work is inaccessible to me, but I must accept that as a personality quirk of my own. You can also be subtly violent, which is sometimes but not always easier to experience (for me.)
    I don’t expect to surprise you with this information.
    You’re right, flaws can enhance and reassure. I just don’t want them to distract.
    It seems to me that the world of authorship is over-run with mediocrity that the public often embraces. So I approach as a skeptic.
    Part of what appeals in your writing is its almost Victorian, very atmospheric lushness. That is not garish by any means, it is a quality I can respect and enjoy.
    You’re telling me then that Fr Torturo has his moments as well? Is it any worse than the Brothers Grimm?

  6. brendanconnell says:

    Worse in which way?

    There is some unfortunate and unnecessary violence—or so I have been told.

  7. thistle says:

    more gruesome, which translates to worse in my, uh, book.
    I give up. I don’t get the violence thing, even when it can be deemed ‘necessary’ or reality-based. It exists, acknowledged. I never viewed it as entertainment, though the fairy tales were never a problem.
    Anyway, I thought you might be another two-bit wanna-be creating a shameless stir at Amazon.
    I . Was. Wrong.
    Ta.

Leave a Reply

