Per 100,000 dollari ti ammazzo

Director: Giovanni Fago

Year: 1967 

A deep organ. Desert scene. Trumpets. A western that, if not great, comes quite close.

Though the credits give made-up American names to most of the actors and the director (who is billed as Sidney Lean), the cast on this one is strictly European, staring the great Gianni Garko as Johnny Forrest and Claudio Comaso as his evil brother Clint. Comaso, it must be said, plays an excellent villain, and there is something about him that is truly repulsive. Though not as famous as his brother Gian Maria Volontà, this actor is almost as interesting.

There is lots of great scenery, sweat dripping from faces and plenty of guns going off—as well as some really beautiful horses. Another interesting feature is how dirty Garko appears throughout the film. His jacket is always covered in dust and in the final scene his face is completely covered with sweat, dirt and blood as a strong wind whips hay around what I guess is supposed to be Albuquerque.

The score on this one is really striking, though I am not exactly sure who is responsible for it.

Giovanni Fago has not done all that much as a director, but from what I have seen of his work, he is quite remarkable. This film and the really odd O’ Cangaçeiro make him worthy of a great deal of respect.

Highly recommended.

5 Responses to Per 100,000 dollari ti ammazzo

  1. Dan L. says:

    When are you going to write your western, or have you already done so?

    • brendanconnell says:

      I have a western started somewhere, but it is hard to find the time to get to it… Other things seem to be taking priority. Four other books to be precise.

    • brendanconnell says:

      I actually do however have a novel finished about a spaghetti western film star. So that is sort of like a western.

  2. Dan L. says:

    Are the things you have ready besides the much-anticipated (by me, at least) Jottings and the redux version of Unpleasant Tales? Also, I want to ask if you write what you like to write but try to make it salable at the same time? It seems like a lot of your recent work (and maybe you’ve been doing this for a while) seems to fit more or less neatly into pre-established genre. As you probably know by now, I’ve been really impressed by all of your work, even if I don’t understand all of it quite fully. I really liked Cannibals and thought I detected an oblique reference to The Galaxy Club in it somewhere, or was that just paranoia on my part–I, of course, am aware that it is a continuation of the Torturo story–I thought it was rather surprising that you returned to that one but the result was very well done and, I thought superior to that work, it even kind of “rounds it out” somewhat—I wanted to let you know, also that the introduction is really swell, i miei sentimenti esattamente!

    • brendanconnell says:

      No, the four things I am speaking of – the four books – are totally different. I generally don’t think about sales when writing a book. I think the only one I consciously thought about sales with was Torturo. I do however want to have book accessible to different types of people – so some things are more obscure, some things less so. No matter how obscure things are though, I always do try to write for someone reading it, not just for myself – so I try to have actual stories and such. I am glad you liked Cannibals. There will be, at some point I hope, a third book also. But I am slow on those. The third book isnt one of the four I mentioned still though. I don’t think there was any connection to the Galaxy Club, though there are odd deities and such in both I guess. I am glad you liked the introductory statement. I dont think anyone has mentioned having read it to me so far! As for pre-established genres – yes, the Cannibals book is meant to fit into this. Jottings probably does not fit pre-established genres. After that it will depend on the order books are published in. Some of the books are easier to fit in genres than I others I think.

Leave a Reply

