More on Cats for Cooking

A conversation I had yesterday with another unnamed individual:

“Have you ever eaten cat?”

“Yes. My grandmother used to cook them.”

“Where did she get the cats from?”

“She raised them?”

“In a cage?”

“No, outside.”

“And to kill them?”

“You use a rifle.”

6 Responses to More on Cats for Cooking

  1. Jason says:

    That suggests a story idea: solitary fellow loves his cat more than anything; it is his only relationship. Cat gets old, breaks a leg, becomes chronically ill, etc. Fellow takes the cat outside and shoots it with a rifle. He then meticulously and lovingly prepares cat cacciatore and ingests his old friend, believing that by digesting the cat’s essence into his own body, they will be joined forever at the molecular level.

  2. brendanconnell says:

    I actually wrote a story like that about a goat…

    But this cult of cat eating has started to fascinate me. It is hard to get people to talk about it, as it is sort of taboo, but the more I investigate, the more I realise that people really are eating cats around hear.

    Another specialty of the area is hedge-hogs, of which there are a fair number.

    The real question is, if you were offered cat, would you try it?

    I think an alternative to the cacciatore recipe is simply with a little white wine and onion, cooked in a shallow pot.

  3. Jason says:

    I like the idea of trying cat, but I don’t know if I’d go through with it in reality. Hedge-hog I wouldn’t mind, as least psychologically. I have no idea how they taste. There was lots of cat meat on offer when I was in north vietnam. Can’t say I was real tempted at the time.
    I just saw a news piece on a festival in north vietnam where they are setting a record by cooking 5 whole horses in the same giant pot.

  4. brendanconnell says:

    Yeah, I have eaten horse. It is pretty standard fare around here along with donkey. Five of them is pretty disgusting though.

    Horse meat isnt bad though. Very lean.

    As for cat, I think psychologically it seems like it would be better with polenta than in a Vietnamese dish, though I am not sure why this is.

  5. Jason says:

    I don’t know….barbecued with lemongrass and rolled in rice paper with some fresh herbs and pickled daikon. I could see it.

  6. brendanconnell says:

    Hmm. You are beginning to make me interested. That does sound pretty good.

Leave a Reply

